Complete Story


SAVIR announces the Council of Past Presidents

Carol Runyan to serve as inaugural chair

Council of Past Presidents of SAVIR

The Council of Past Presidents of SAVIR was formed in the fall of 2022 with the intent of drawing on the expertise of former leaders in helping the organization appreciate and learn from its history and by bringing perspectives of former leaders as SAVIR considers new directions and addresses new challenges.


  • Annually nominate and select SAVIR Presidential Awardee to recognize distinguished achievements in advancing violence and injury research and prevention in the United States and around the world.

  • Respond to requests from the Executive Committee for insights on new ideas, directions and challenges as the organization moves forward

In addition, the Council will assist the leadership of SAVIR in assuring that records of SAVIR’s history and key developments are maintained.


RunyanThese prior Presidents have agreed to serve on the Council as of November 2022.

Charles Branas, Carri Casteel, Theresa Cruz,  Shannon Frattaroli, Linda Degutis,  Andrea Geilen, Steve Hargarten, Bernadette Hohl, Debra Houry, Michael Mello, Corinne Peek-Asa, Frederick Rivara,  Carol Runyan, Douglas Wiebe.

The chair of the Council is chosen by Council members and approved by the SAVIR President.  The inaugural chair is:  Carol W. Runyan, MPH, PhD, (President of SAVIR, 2018-2019). 


Printer-Friendly Version