SAVIR Board of Directors

The SAVIR Board of Directors is an elected Board composed of 13 members: four members from the Executive Committee, six members elected by and drawn from the general membership, and the remaining three members appointed by the Executive Committee-to consist of one Chair or Co-Chair of the Council of Centers, one student representative and one member-at-large. Elections are held annually.

Executive Committee Officers

Shannon Frattaroli (view biography)
Associate Director for Outreach, Center for Injury Research & Policy
Associate Professor, Health Policy & Management
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, Maryland

Carol W. Runyan, MPH, PhD (view biography)
Professor, Epidemiology/ Community & Behavioral Health
Colorado School of Public Health
Professor, Pediatrics, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Director, Program for Injury Prevention, Education and Research (PIPER)
Aurora, Colorado

Carri Casteel, PhD, MPH (view biography)
Associate Professor, Occupational and Environmental Health
College of Public Health, The University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Jingzhen (Ginger) Yang, PhD, MPH (view biography)
Associate Professor, Center for Injury Research and Policy
The Research Institute at Nationwide Children's Hospital Department Of Pediatrics
The Ohio State University College of Medicine
Columbus, Ohio

Board of Directors

Mary E. Aitken, MD MPH (view biography)
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Director, Injury Prevention Center, Arkansas Children’s Hospital
Little Rock, Arkansas

Linda C. Degutis, DrPH, MSN, FRSPH (view biography)
Executive Director, Defense Health Horizons
Atlanta, Georgia

Marizen Ramirez, PhD, MPH (view biography)
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Ali Rowhani-Rahbar, MD, MPH, PhD (view biography)
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
University of Washington 
Seattle, Washington


Rebecca Spicer, PhD, MPH (view biography)
Senior Research Scientist
Impact Research, LLC
Columbia, Maryland

Mark R. Zonfrillo, MD, MSCE (view biography)
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics
Director of Informatics, Department of Emergency Medicine
Director of Postgraduate Academic Career Development, Hasbro Children’s Hospital
Associate Director, Master of Science in Population Medicine
Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Providence, Rhode Island

Council Chair

Joyce C. Pressley, PhD, MPH (view biography)
Associate Professor, Departments of Epidemiology and Health Policy and Management at CUMC
Center for Injury Epidemiology and Prevention at Columbia
Columbia University,
New York City, New York

Member at Large

Mike Gittelman, MD (view biography)
Professor, Clinical Pediatrics
Division of Emergency Medicine
Co-Director, Comprehensive Children’s Injury Center
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital
Cincinnati, Ohio

Transitional Representative

Jiabin Shen, PhD (view biography)
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Center for Pediatric Trauma Research
Center for Injury Research and Policy
The Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Columbus, Ohio


Student Representative

Catherine S. Wolff, MS (view biography)
Doctoral Student | Injury Epidemiology
Gillings School of Global Public Health
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
MD Student | Duke University School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, North Carolina


Past Presidents

Doug Wiebe (2015-2016)

Deb Houry (2014)
Frederick Rivara, MD, MPH (2013-14)
Richard Sattin, MD (2012-13)
Andrea Gielen, ScD, ScM (2011-12)
Michael J. Mello, MD, MPH, FACEP (2010-11)
Corinne Peek-Asa, PhD (2009-10)
Charles Branas, PhD (2008-09)
Hank Weiss, PhD (2007-08)
Steve Hargarten, MD (2005-07)
David Grossman, MD (2004-05)
Don Marion, MD (2003-04)

Past Treasurers

Catherine McDonald, PhD, RN (2013-16)
Deb Houry (2012)
Michael Yonas DrPH (2010-2011)
Charlie Branas, PhD (2009)
Jim Helmkamp, PhD (2005 - 2008)


Society for the Advancement of Violence and Injury Research


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software